Ottawa Film Office Welcomes New Board Members

Ottawa – The Ottawa Film Office is delighted to announce the appointment of four new members to its Board of Directors. With varied backgrounds and experiences, the new members will offer diverse perspectives which will contribute to the growth and success of the National Capital Region’s film, television and animation sectors.

Joining the Board effective immediately are:

  • Erin Benjamin, President & CEO, Canadian Live Music Association;
  • Christina Ruddy, Operations Manager, Omamiwinini Pimadjwowin – The Algonquin Way Cultural Centre;
  • Lise Sarazin, Executive Director, Regroupement des gens d’affaires de la Capitale nationale; and
  • Frédéric Thibault-Chabot, Dean, Institute of Technology, Arts and Communication, Institute of Specialized Trades and Institute of Training and Research in Agrifood, Collège La Cité.

Additionally, Don Herweyer, the City of Ottawa’s Director of Economic Development and Long-Range Planning, is joining the Board in a non-voting role following his predecessor John Smit’s retirement. The Ottawa Film Office thanks retiring Board members Mark Edwards (Edwards PC, Creative Law) and Bruce Raganold (Welch LLP) for their dedicated service.

“I couldn’t be more pleased to welcome these four distinguished members to the team and I look forward to continuing working with the Board to grow and strengthen the local industry and creative economy,” says Bruce Harvey, Ottawa Film Commissioner. “We are eternally grateful to Mark and Bruce who were both instrumental in the creation of the independent film office, and we will continually welcome their friendship and engagement with the organization.”

“This is a time of great momentum for the film and television production industry in Ottawa with several partners working together on the new soundstage and creative hub, with the increase in production happening in the city, and with the animation sector’s many wins and continued growth,” adds Catherine Callary, Chair of the Board. “I’m thrilled to be working alongside an impressive group of Directors, staff, and industry whose collaboration is seeing Ottawa take its place as a rising star for film and animation production in Ontario and indeed in Canada.”

Ottawa Film Office Board of Directors 2019-2020:

  • Catherine Callary, Chair, Ottawa Tourism
  • Robyn Heaton, Vice-Chair, Algonquin College
  • Councillor Jean Cloutier, Treasurer, City of Ottawa
  • Nicole St. Pierre, Secretary, Mercury Filmworks
  • Bernie Ashe, Consultant
  • Erin Benjamin, Canadian Live Music Association
  • Daniel Feeny, National Capital Commission
  • Don Herweyer, City of Ottawa (non-voting member)
  • Tom McSorley, Canadian Film Institute
  • Christina Ruddy, Omamiwinini Pimadjwowin – The Algonquin Way Cultural Centre
  • Lise Sarazin, Regroupement des gens d’affaires de la Capitale nationale
  • Ken Stewart, GAPC Entertainment
  • Frédéric Thibault-Chabot, Collège La Cité

– 30 –

About the Ottawa Film Office
The Ottawa Film Office is a not-for-profit organization whose mission is to help stimulate Ottawa’s economy by attracting film and television production to the region, fostering the growth and development of the local film and television industry, and promoting the region as a preferred industry destination. Its services include location support and film permitting, production attraction and development, and industry and government liaison and advocacy.

Media contact:
Stephanie Davy
Marketing and Communications Officer
Ottawa Film Office
[email protected]